Food

Recipe Time: Slow Cooker Turkey Chili (Clean Eating & Gluten Free)

Hello my friends!

I’ve been trying to eat a little better now that I’ve been back to exercising pretty regularly, and thats where I got the idea for this recipe. Today’s Tuesday, taco Tuesday (everyone does that right?) …But, today is also freezing-your-ass-off-Connecticut-winter Tuesday, much like every other day this time of year :P. Anyways, I wanted something healthy, comforting, and taco-y all at the same time. Turkey chili it is! I love chili, it gives you options. You can stick it in a taco, eat it with chips, over rice, or by itself. I decided to lighten it up by using ground turkey (93%) and combine everything in the slow cooker so the flavors have plenty of time to simmer together.

This recipe is easily adaptable to what you have on hand, and of course you could easily make this on the stove top too. I have a Ninja slow cooker that is by far my favorite kitchen item ever, so anytime I can use it I do. 🙂

Here’s what you need:

  • 1lb ground turkey (I used 93%)
  • 1-2 tablespoons olive oil (eyeball it)
  • 1 (15oz) can of black beans, undrained
  • 1 medium red onion, diced
  • 1/2 large or 1 small red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 (4oz) can of diced green chiles
  • 1 (8oz) can of tomato sauce
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 1/2 cup frozen corn
  • chili seasoning (I make my own, and eyeball it)

For my chili seasoning today, I used roughly:

  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons cumin
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 tablespoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

I used the seasoning in two steps, so I would suggest combining it all and using half at a time.

To get started, heat the olive oil on medium high heat of a skillet, frying pan, whatever you have. I KNOW I KNOW, it says slow cooker recipe, and it is, but like, raw turkey in with everything? Ew ew double ew. Just trust me.

Anyways, once the oil has heated, add the turkey, break it up a bit, and add the diced onion. Let it cook a few mins, keep breaking it up and mixing it, add half the seasoning, continue to stir it up, let it cook another couple minutes (should be almost fully cooked by now), and then add the tomato paste.

Mix the tomato paste really well and allow it to sauté with the turkey mixture for about two minutes. Then add the whole thing to your slow cooker/crockpot. If making this on the stovetop, you can cook it all in one pot as long as it fits.

Into the slow cooker I added the remaining ingredients and seasoning. I also used the can of beans to measure 1/2 of it with water. Once everything is all in, mix it well, and cook on low for about 4 hours. It doesn’t really need longer than that since we cooked the turkey beforehand.

Heres a pic of what mine looked like before I turned on the slow cooker:

image1

YUMMMMMM. OMG. I CANT WAIT!

I’m topping mine with light sour cream, a sprinkle of shredded cheddar (more like a mountain :P) and some home-made guacamole, because we just LOVE guac in this house!

What about you guys? Whats your favorite chili toppings? Write me and let me know!

I hope you guys enjoy this recipe.

With Love,

Bria XOXO

 

Leave a Reply

