Food

Healthy Tex-Mex Stuffed Peppers Recipe

Hey guys! Been a while. Been so busy with my EIGHT MONTH OLD! Time is flying. Summer is around the corner! But, with no sign of spring in sight in chilly, blizzard-y Connecticut, I still crave warm comfort food. I’m happy to share a very healthy tex-mex style stuffed peppers recipe with ya! This recipe is gluten free. As you guys know, I eyeball seasonings. I suggest adjusting it to your preference. I’m including a few photos, but forgive me as I am not the best food photographer. Its all about taste anyway, and these are DELISH! If you have extra stuffing, I strongly recommend using it in a burrito for lunch the next day. Yum!

Healthy Tex-Mex Stuffed Peppers

For this recipe you will need:

  • 2-4 green bell peppers, seeded and cut longways in half (I preferred green in this recipe, because I find them to be a little less sweet)
  • Approx. 1lb 93% lean ground beef (healthy!)
  • Approx. 1.5 cups of cooked rice (I used leftover jasmine rice I made for another meal)
  • 1 handful of fresh cilantro
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1/4 cup of diced white onion
  • 1 (15oz) can of tomato sauce
  • 2 tablespoons of cumin
  • 2 tablespoons of paprika
  • 2 tablespoons of chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 2-3 tablespoons olive oil
  • Shredded cheddar cheese (optional)

To start, heat oil in a frying pan or skillet over med-high heat. When ready, add the ground beef. When beef is almost done, add onions and garlic. Sauté for a couple of minutes, until onion is translucent. Add the salt, cumin, chili powder and paprika, and stir the meat a bit. Then add in your can of tomato sauce, and 1/2 that can of water, and stir. Add the fresh cilantro, and turn the heat down to simmer. Stir in the cooked rice. Cover, and simmer for about 10 minutes. Then, transfer to a bowl (or you can work out of the pan if you wish).

Heres a picture of the mixture when its all done:

image1

YUMMMMMMMMMM 🙂

While you’re sautéing the meat mixture, preheat your oven to 400 degrees (f). Line a baking sheet with foil and spray with nonstick spray. Place your peppers cut side up, and cook for 10 mins, or longer if you like softer peppers. I personally prefer a little crunch, so I only went with 10 mins. Remove the peppers, and spoon the mixture into each of them. Fill it to your liking, I prefer it to be almost overflowing 😛 . Place back onto baking sheet, and top with some shredded cheddar cheese. Put the baking sheet in the oven about 5 minutes, or until cheese is melted.

Here are some before and after pictures:

image2

^This is pre cheese.

image3

^Once cheese has been added.

image5

^After cheese has been melted in oven.

Now folks, the possibilities are endless as far as toppings go. I’m thinking chopped avocado, fresh cilantro sprigs, and some fresh jalapeño. Nice and green 🙂

 

I hope you guys try this out and let me know what you think! Happy eating! ❤

With Love,

Bria XOXO

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

